FIFA World Cup blog

FIFA World Cup 2022

Qatar is going to be the host country for the FIFA World Cup 2022. Both the nation and the region will be making their first appearances at the FIFA World Cup 2022, which will also be the first time the competition is held in the Middle East. It’s a wonderful moment for soccer fans all around the globe to see what Qatar has to offer in the way of stadiums and facilities.

Qatar – The First Middle-East Country To Host FIFA

As the host nation, Qatar will have the ability to choose the cities that will play home to the matches. However, according to FIFA regulations, no stadium can have more than 40,000 spectator seats, and each stadium is required to have at least one covered grandstand with a capacity of at least 25,000 seats.

Qatar has won several awards for its infrastructure development plan and is committed to building new stadiums and improving existing ones ahead of 2022. In April 2018, it was announced that construction would begin on a new $2bn stadium in Lusail City – expected to become the biggest in world football – while five other stadiums are currently being built or refurbished at a cost of $3bn each.

The New Stadiums

As you may know, Qatar will be hosting the FIFA World Cup 2022. But did you know that it’s a special kind of World Cup? The stadiums have to be built in the desert! These new stadiums will be air-conditioned and environmentally friendly, which is good news considering they’re going to be hot in their locations.

For FIFA World Cup 2022 they also be built on the coast and near sandy dunes, so hopefully people won’t mind visiting those places once they’re finished being turned into soccer pitches (and after all these years of complaining about no one wanting to visit Australia). We can expect these new stadiums to be fantastic examples of how we can build for future generations: sustainable, efficient, and beautiful.

The Finals

The FIFA World Cup 2022 Finals will be played in Al Wakrah Stadium, which will be located in the south of Qatar. The stadium has a capacity of 40,000 and features a retractable roof and natural grass pitch. The final will take place on December 18th 2022 at 9pm local time (11:30am EST). You can watch live coverage with English commentary provided by former soccer player Stu Holden.

48 Teams Instead Of 32

The new format is also known as the 48-team World Cup. It was introduced in 2026, and this edition will be the first one to use it. The field of participants will expand from 32 teams to 48 in FIFA World Cup 2022. If you think that sounds like a lot of extra games, you’re right: There will be 16 more matches played during this World Cup than there were in 2014’s.

In addition to traditional knockout rounds (for both groups and individual games), there will be two additional stages before reaching the final match: quarterfinals and semifinals. In order to accommodate all these games and make sure everyone gets their chance at glory (or heartbreak), eight groups of three teams each have been formed instead of four groups of four teams each.

Two teams from each group still move on past round robin play into knockout stages like those seen in previous editions of FIFA World Cup 2022 tournaments where only one team advances out from its respective group after playing three preliminary matches against all other members within its own respective pool area until only 5 remain standing.

The Top Teams To Look Out For In FIFA 2022

  • Germany

    They are the reigning champions of the world cup and they have won 4 times in total. They have been playing very well as they finished top of their group with 10 points and scored 10 goals in 3 games played. They are also favourites to win again this year because they have a very strong team with great players like Muller, Ozil and Neuer who are all world class players.

  • Spain

    The Spanish team has one of the best squads in the world right now, with players like Isco, Marco Asensio and David Silva leading the way for La Roja. In addition to these three players, there are plenty of other young stars coming through into their first team such as Dani Ceballos, Marcos Llorente and Rodrigo Moreno (who plays for Valencia).

  • Brazil

    The five-time winners of the World Cup are among the favourites to win another title. They have been on a decline since winning it all in 2002, but they still have one of the strongest teams with players like Neymar Jr., Thiago Silva, Philippe Coutinho and Gabriel Jesus. They have been inconsistent in recent years but with experience under their belt, they could be among the favourites come 2022.

  • France

    France has been one of the most successful teams at international level, winning two FIFA World Cups (1998 and 2018) as well as two UEFA European Championships (1984 and 2000). France has also reached three FIFA Women’s World Cups final matches (2003, 2007, 2011), which they lost each time to Germany on penalties or by a single goal margin respectively.

  • Croatia

    Croatia are an excellent team. They have the second-best odds for winning the World Cup, and a good argument can be made that they should have won it in 1998 if not for a missed penalty kick by Davor Suker in the final against France. Croatia has some of the best midfielders in the world, led by Real Madrid’s Luka Modric, who has been one of the best players in Europe over the past decade.


The FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar is set to be a huge event. With 48 teams instead of 32, new stadiums being built and more technology being used than ever before, it’s sure to be an exciting time for fans as well as players and coaches alike. There will be plenty of new records broken during this tournament too so don’t miss out!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *